Despite its low ratings, the 89th Academy Awards will go down as one of the most memorable in the history of the event (thanks in large part to the gaffe during the Best Picture announcement).

Outside of that huge mishap, there were some monumental moments including Moonlight’s historic win for Best Picture. The indie drama became the first movie with an all-black cast to take the top prize, and it’s rising star, Mahershala Ali, became the first Muslim actor to win an Oscar, taking home Best Supporting Actor.

At 32, Damien Chazelle is the youngest filmmaker to win Best Director (for La La Land) and adored actresses Emma Stone and Viola Davis took home their first Oscars for Best Actress and Best Supporting Actress, respectively.

That was what we saw on stage, but, as is the case with many awards ceremonies, there was as much action going on behind the scenes. And for that, we go to social media!

Oscar pals Brie Larson and Emma Stone

One of the most touching moments comes from Brie Larson. Last year’s Best Actress winner shared a snap on her Instagram of a teary-eyed embrace with this year’s winner, Emma Stone.

You know what’s better than winning? Watching your friends win. @theacademy

A post shared by Brie (@brielarson) on

The Academy’s Instagram account shared a video of the encounter, as well.

Brie Larson congratulates best actress winner Emma Stone backstage at the #oscars

A post shared by The Academy (@theacademy) on

Reese Witherspoon and Nick Kroll

Another former Best Actress winner, Reese Witherspoon is always a gold mine of candid BTS shots, like this one of her sharing an In-N-Out burger with Nick Kroll at the Vanity Fair post-Oscar party.

Gunter & Rosita reunited! ?? @singmovie @nickkroll #AboutLastNight #Oscars

A post shared by Reese Witherspoon (@reesewitherspoon) on

Reese Witherspoon, Dakota Johnson, and Chris Evans

At the same gathering, Reese enjoyed drinks with Dakota Johnson and got photobombed by Captain America himself, Chris Evans.

Three ladies and a photobomb ??? @dakotajohnson @missemward #ChrisEvans #Oscars #VanityFair

A post shared by Reese Witherspoon (@reesewitherspoon) on

Justin Timberlake and Jessica Biel

Unlike the Golden Globes, food isn’t offered at the Oscars (sorry, Jimmy Kimmel’s candy dump doesn’t count). Jessica Biel took care of her grumbling stomach following the ceremony, with help from husband, Justin Timberlake.

Post Oscars. Pre party. Baby daddy duty.

A post shared by Jessica Biel (@jessicabiel) on

Oscar night was a perfect date night, not only for couples but BFF’s as well!

Busy Philipps and Michelle Williams

Hey @vanityfair !!! We’re ready for our @innout burgers!!! Thank you!!!!

A post shared by Busy Philipps (@busyphilipps) on

Mindy Kaling and B.J. Novak

Thanks @vanityfair

A post shared by Mindy Kaling (@mindykaling) on

Elizabeth Banks

The festivities served as a reunion for Elizabeth Banks and some of her closest friends in Hollywood.

I ❤️this bunch of nerds – we grew up in this business together and I am grateful to know them. #ronlivingston #rosemariedewitt #adamscott @maxhandelman @jessetyler @nfscott #oscars2017 @vanityfair

A post shared by Elizabeth Banks (@elizabethbanks) on

Check out the rest of our favorite social snaps from the 89th Academy Awards!

Barry Jenkins and Isabelle Huppert

Once again, with feeling, me and the queen @isabelle.huppert ??

A post shared by Barry Jenkins (@bandrybarry) on

Priyanka Chopra

And it’s over! #oscarweekend !! my treat. #innout

A post shared by Priyanka Chopra (@priyankachopra) on

Jessica Alba, Gabrielle Union, and Olivia Munn

#TheFutureIsFemale @gabunion @oliviamunn #vanityfairoscarparty @vanityfair you sure throw a fun party

A post shared by Jessica Alba (@jessicaalba) on

Russell Wilson and Ciara

I’m Honored To Be An Event Chair For #EJAF25. #Oscars

A post shared by Ciara (@ciara) on

Sofia Vergara

Ready for the Oscars ? #oscars2017

A post shared by Sofia Vergara (@sofiavergara) on

Michelle Williams, Salma Hayek and Busy Philipps

World’s greatest/most beautiful photo bomber.

A post shared by Busy Philipps (@busyphilipps) on

Emma Roberts (and Julia Roberts)

LOVE my vintage @Armani dress & @swarovski jewels!! Thank you to @RedCarpetGreenDress for making this day special. #RCGD #Oscars2017 and oh hi Aunt Julia ?

A post shared by Emma Roberts (@emmaroberts) on

Adele (and Emma Stone)

Ah Emma ❤️ And Moonlight, congratulations so so wonderful ⭐️

A post shared by Adele (@adele) on

Chrissy Teigen and John Legend

#Oscars

A post shared by John Legend (@johnlegend) on

Naomie Harris

It takes a village!! The Final Look!

A post shared by Naomie Harris (@naomieharris) on

Emma Stone

Painting some brick lips on this goddess tonight. #emmastone you couldn’t be more beautiful if you tried. Audacious Lipstick in Mona by NARS #narsissist #mua #beauty #oscars

A post shared by Rachel Goodwin (@rachel_goodwin) on

Octavia Spencer

#ad @DunkinDonuts #today I’m almost #redcarpetready but first a bit of happy time in a quiet corner with my cup of joe!!!

A post shared by Octavia Spencer (@therealoctaviaspencer) on

Jimmy Kimmel, Adriana Lima, and Matt Damon

?Peacemaker Angel… Can’t we all just get along? ☺️ @jimmykimmel #mattdamon #oscars #vanityfair

A post shared by Adriana Lima (@adrianalima) on

Guillermo from Jimmy Kimmel Live!

Finally, Jimmy Kimmel had fun on his talk show Monday night showing exactly what happened to the missing Best Picture envelope.

Stay linked to Good Celebrity for all the breaking celebrity news headlines and stories about people doing good!

(Photo credits: Instagram)